Presented with Pride : LGBTQ+ Books for Teens

The Vancouver Public Library recently updated their Presented with Pride for Teens brochure, which now includes annotations of over 25 LGTBQ+ books for young adults, including contemporary fiction, memoirs, short stories, nonfiction and graphic novels! You can find the book list in its entirety on the library’s website.

Here are just a few of the incredible titles covered in the brochure. How many have you read? Any favourites?

30832164

Striving for Equality: LGBTQ+ Athletes Claim the Field

LGBTQ+ athletes from across disciplines and from different decades are featured in this celebration of sports trailblazers and pioneers.

22896551

None of the Above

Written by a doctor who specializes in services for intersex individuals, None of the Above is the story of intersex teen Kirsten as she comes to terms with her new identity and works towards self-acceptance in the face of bullying, betrayal, confusion and self-doubt.

28953805

Goldie Vance

Goldie Vance is a teenage sleuth extraordinaire, and when a necklace goes missing, Goldie and her friends are on the case! This graphic novel series, with its diverse cast of delightful characters, is perfect for fans of Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars.

31019571

10 Things I Can See From Here

Maeve’s anxiety disorder has her worried all the time, and when her mother’s move to Haiti means she has to move to a new city with her father and step-family, her anxiety kicks into overdrive. But Vancouver isn’t all bad, and it might just hold the promise of something really special. A respectful, positive portrayal of mental illness combines with a lesbian love story in this Canadian novel.

22752445

SuperMutant Magic Academy

Witches, mutants, lizard-headed girls, cats who have to attend classes to fulfill prophesies, and boys who cannot die – you know, just the usual high school crowd. SuperMutant Magic Academy might not look like your average high school, but it’s filled with all the usual angst, especially for closeted Marsha, who’s secretly in love with Wendy (who just happens to have cat ears) in this collection based on a web comic.

28763240

At the Edge of the Universe

Not only has Ozzie’s boyfriend Tommy vanished – nobody else seem to remember he ever existed! Ozzie sets out on a mission to uncover the mystery behind Tommy’s disappearance, while also struggling with his feelings for the mysterious Calvin. Oh, and the universe is shrinking, and Ozzie’s the only one who knows about it. There’s that, too.

Be sure to check out the entire list for even more LGBTQ+ titles for young people!

jane signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

Team Avatar, Detectives at Your Service

Team Avatar, Detectives at Your Service

It’s no secret that I’m a huge admirer of Avatar: the Last Airbender, tv show and comics both, so pardon me while I fangirl a little, and bear with my semi-academic writerly argument. But Team Avatar? Totally a detective group, solving the mysteries going on in their own specific time and place with people they know, […]

Review: Kenneth Oppel’s “The Nest”

Review: Kenneth Oppel’s “The Nest”

Steve just wants to save his baby brother—but what will he lose in the bargain? Kenneth Oppel’s (Silverwing, The Boundless) haunting gothic tale for fans of Coraline, is one of the most acclaimed books of the year, receiving six starred reviews. Illustrations from Caldecott Medalist Jon Klassen. For some kids summer is a sun-soaked season […]

Elena Vanishing by Clare B. Dunkle and Elena Dunkle: A Review

Elena Vanishing by Clare B. Dunkle and Elena Dunkle: A Review

Hardcover, 288 pages Published May 19th 2015 by Chronicle Books Source: Raincoast Books Nafiza: It is a curious experience to read Elena Vanishing after reading Hope and Other Luxuries. A few years ago, I returned to Fiji after a decade and when perusing the city, the buildings, the sugarcane fields, I felt as if I […]

Hope and Other Luxuries: A Mother's Life with a Daughter's Anorexia by Clare Dunkle: A Dialectical Review

Hope and Other Luxuries: A Mother's Life with a Daughter's Anorexia by Clare Dunkle: A Dialectical Review

Hardcover, 560 pages Expected publication: May 19th 2015 by Chronicle Books Source: Raincoast Books Janet and I received review copies of this book from Raincoast Books and as this is a rather heavy book in terms of the themes it tackles and the experiences it narrates, we decided to buddy-read it. And since we were […]

Review: One Thing Stolen by Beth Kephart

Review: One Thing Stolen by Beth Kephart

Hardcover, 272 pages Published March 31st 2015 by Chronicle Books Source: ARC from Raincoast Books Shhh, I told Maggie. Listen. Because somebody was high up, above our heads, singing this sad gospel song. Somebody was there in the garden of the dead besides the two of us. We saw the laces first, dangling through the leaves. […]

Kit Pearson on the Redemption of Story: a Colloquium

Kit Pearson on the Redemption of Story: a Colloquium

On January 21st, Kit Pearson spoke at UBC on the redemption of story.     In case you can’t read the print, comfortably large on the poster, rather minuscule as a photograph, here it is: UBC Master of Arts in Children’s Literature Program Colloquium on Writing and Criticism of Children’s Literature Presents the award-winning writer […]

Review: Counting Backwards by Laura Lascarso

Review: Counting Backwards by Laura Lascarso

Hardcover, 279 pages Published August 14th 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers Source: Library “I exhale slowly, ten, nine, eight… counting backwards without meaning to, but it feels better than counting up, because at one it will be over, right?” It is important, especially after the horrific Sandy Hook Elementary shooting, to take a […]