Presented with Pride : LGBTQ+ Books for Teens

The Vancouver Public Library recently updated their Presented with Pride for Teens brochure, which now includes annotations of over 25 LGTBQ+ books for young adults, including contemporary fiction, memoirs, short stories, nonfiction and graphic novels! You can find the book list in its entirety on the library’s website.

Here are just a few of the incredible titles covered in the brochure. How many have you read? Any favourites?

30832164

Striving for Equality: LGBTQ+ Athletes Claim the Field

LGBTQ+ athletes from across disciplines and from different decades are featured in this celebration of sports trailblazers and pioneers.

22896551

None of the Above

Written by a doctor who specializes in services for intersex individuals, None of the Above is the story of intersex teen Kirsten as she comes to terms with her new identity and works towards self-acceptance in the face of bullying, betrayal, confusion and self-doubt.

28953805

Goldie Vance

Goldie Vance is a teenage sleuth extraordinaire, and when a necklace goes missing, Goldie and her friends are on the case! This graphic novel series, with its diverse cast of delightful characters, is perfect for fans of Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars.

31019571

10 Things I Can See From Here

Maeve’s anxiety disorder has her worried all the time, and when her mother’s move to Haiti means she has to move to a new city with her father and step-family, her anxiety kicks into overdrive. But Vancouver isn’t all bad, and it might just hold the promise of something really special. A respectful, positive portrayal of mental illness combines with a lesbian love story in this Canadian novel.

22752445

SuperMutant Magic Academy

Witches, mutants, lizard-headed girls, cats who have to attend classes to fulfill prophesies, and boys who cannot die – you know, just the usual high school crowd. SuperMutant Magic Academy might not look like your average high school, but it’s filled with all the usual angst, especially for closeted Marsha, who’s secretly in love with Wendy (who just happens to have cat ears) in this collection based on a web comic.

28763240

At the Edge of the Universe

Not only has Ozzie’s boyfriend Tommy vanished – nobody else seem to remember he ever existed! Ozzie sets out on a mission to uncover the mystery behind Tommy’s disappearance, while also struggling with his feelings for the mysterious Calvin. Oh, and the universe is shrinking, and Ozzie’s the only one who knows about it. There’s that, too.

Be sure to check out the entire list for even more LGBTQ+ titles for young people!

jane signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jazz in Love by Neesha Meminger

Jazz in Love by Neesha Meminger

Jasbir, a.k.a. Jazz, has always been a stellar student and an obedient, albeit wise-cracking, daughter. Everything has gone along just fine — she has good friends in the “genius” program she’s been in since kindergarten, her teachers and her principal adore her, and her parents dote on her. But now, in her junior year of […]

2017 LGBTQ YA Releases

2017 LGBTQ YA Releases

I’ll be honest – this month’s romance theme is a tough one for me. I don’t typically read a lot of YA or MG, and there isn’t usually that much romance in picture books. However – when I’m not singing songs with toddlers, I’m one of the co-chairs of the BC Library Association’s LGBTQ Interest Group. […]

Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel

Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel

“Look at how pretty you are!” Mum exclaims. “You should straighten your hair all the time!” Well, I guess that’s one thing I can straighten about myself. (p. 63) Leila Azadi has always managed to avoid crushing on any of her classmates. No one knows she likes girls, not her loving and traditional Iranian parents, […]

Guest Post: A Review of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Leah CL

Guest Post: A Review of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Leah CL

 Leah CL’s mother used to say the world could end around her while she was reading and she wouldn’t even notice. She loves children’s lit, particularly middle grade fiction, and is sure she’ll get around to writing her own…one of these days. Leah has a degree in journalism and a degree in music, so logically […]

Notes from the Wild: Vol. 15

Notes from the Wild: Vol. 15

Cities around the world are marking June as the first-ever Pride Month, and to celebrate, we’re taking a look at a few young adult titles that feature bisexual protagonists or strong secondary characters. These five novels explore, discuss, and celebrate young people’s explorations of their sexuality and gender identity and emergent identification as bisexual, and feature teenagers from different ethnic […]

Yash and Janet’s Fanmix for The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Yash and Janet’s Fanmix for The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

The Book Wars’ first ever fanmix! Woo! The songs can be found here, and our rationale for why these songs remind us of The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black is as follows. Isle of the Dead by Sergei Rachmaninov This Russian composer was (possibly) alive during Gavriel’s pre-vampire days! Rachmaninov was born in 1873 […]

Nafiza Recommends: Chime by Franny Billingsley

Nafiza Recommends: Chime by Franny Billingsley

I’d better start with a confession, Nafiza: the first time I read Chime, I didn’t like it. I mean, I got why you did: the atmosphere of the setting; the little twists when Briony, the narrator-protagonist, says something completely unexpected – the way she, every so often, describes something with an startling turn of phrase or a […]

Review: The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

Review: The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

Hardcover, 416 pages Published March 3rd 2015 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) Source: ARC from Publisher As is often the case with me, I found The Winner’s Crime to be a much more compelling read, exploring in greater depth gender portrayal and court politics than its predecessor, The Winner’s Curse. As this is a review of the […]