Presented with Pride : LGBTQ+ Books for Teens

The Vancouver Public Library recently updated their Presented with Pride for Teens brochure, which now includes annotations of over 25 LGTBQ+ books for young adults, including contemporary fiction, memoirs, short stories, nonfiction and graphic novels! You can find the book list in its entirety on the library’s website.

Here are just a few of the incredible titles covered in the brochure. How many have you read? Any favourites?

30832164

Striving for Equality: LGBTQ+ Athletes Claim the Field

LGBTQ+ athletes from across disciplines and from different decades are featured in this celebration of sports trailblazers and pioneers.

22896551

None of the Above

Written by a doctor who specializes in services for intersex individuals, None of the Above is the story of intersex teen Kirsten as she comes to terms with her new identity and works towards self-acceptance in the face of bullying, betrayal, confusion and self-doubt.

28953805

Goldie Vance

Goldie Vance is a teenage sleuth extraordinaire, and when a necklace goes missing, Goldie and her friends are on the case! This graphic novel series, with its diverse cast of delightful characters, is perfect for fans of Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars.

31019571

10 Things I Can See From Here

Maeve’s anxiety disorder has her worried all the time, and when her mother’s move to Haiti means she has to move to a new city with her father and step-family, her anxiety kicks into overdrive. But Vancouver isn’t all bad, and it might just hold the promise of something really special. A respectful, positive portrayal of mental illness combines with a lesbian love story in this Canadian novel.

22752445

SuperMutant Magic Academy

Witches, mutants, lizard-headed girls, cats who have to attend classes to fulfill prophesies, and boys who cannot die – you know, just the usual high school crowd. SuperMutant Magic Academy might not look like your average high school, but it’s filled with all the usual angst, especially for closeted Marsha, who’s secretly in love with Wendy (who just happens to have cat ears) in this collection based on a web comic.

28763240

At the Edge of the Universe

Not only has Ozzie’s boyfriend Tommy vanished – nobody else seem to remember he ever existed! Ozzie sets out on a mission to uncover the mystery behind Tommy’s disappearance, while also struggling with his feelings for the mysterious Calvin. Oh, and the universe is shrinking, and Ozzie’s the only one who knows about it. There’s that, too.

Be sure to check out the entire list for even more LGBTQ+ titles for young people!

jane signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Cover Wars

The Cover Wars

James Parson has a problem. His military dad is going to yank him out of his expensive boarding school if James doesn’t prove he’s no longer hooking up, pulling pranks, and charming his way out of consequences. What better way to show he’s now responsible than becoming the committed boyfriend of a U.S. diplomat’s daughter? […]

Review: Ruby’s Wish

Review: Ruby’s Wish

Ruby is unlike most little girls in old China. Instead of aspiring to get married, Ruby is determined to attend university when she grows up, just like the boys in her family. Based upon the inspirational story of the author’s grandmother and accompanied by richly detailed illustrations, Ruby’s Wish is an engaging portrait of a […]

Picturebooks Galore: Reviews

Yousuf’s Everyday Adventures: Beautifully Different – Dana Salim, Pavel Goldaev (illustrator) Hardcover Published April 2017 by DS Publishing, LLC Source: Publisher Yousuf is taught the beauty of being different in this picturebook that will have the most impact when read with a parent or a caretaker. The illustrations are bright and vivid and though the […]

The Cover Wars

The Cover Wars

Lori Fisher hunts monsters. Not with a sword or a gun, but with an interdimensional creature called Handler. Together they take down “feeders”—aliens who prey on mankind. When Lori touches a feeder, Handler’s impossibly large jaws appear and drag the beast into another dimension. It’s a living—or was, until a job for the Lake Foundation […]

The Case of the Girl in Grey by Jordan Stratford; ill. Kelly Murphy

The Case of the Girl in Grey by Jordan Stratford; ill. Kelly Murphy

The Case of the Girl in Grey (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency No. 2) by Jordan Stratford and illustrated by Kelly Murphy – Red Cedar fiction nominee 2017/2018 – is a middle grade mystery, a story of utterly opposite sisters, and above all, about the friendships formed between remarkable girls. As in The Case of the Missing […]

Notes from the Wild – Popular Series as Picked by Actual Kids

Notes from the Wild – Popular Series as Picked by Actual Kids

As a librarian, I often have parents and caregivers asking for book recommendations for their children. While I’m more than happy to help connect kids with books, let’s be honest, it’s been a looooong time since I was a kid. A long, long time. I can tell parents which books have won awards, or have […]

The Cover Wars

The Cover Wars

Throughout history and across the globe, one characteristic connects the daring women of Brazen: their indomitable spirit. With her characteristic wit and dazzling drawings, celebrated graphic novelist Pénélope Bagieu profiles the lives of these feisty female role models, some world famous, some little known. From Nellie Bly to Mae Jemison or Josephine Baker to Naziq al-Abid, […]